The Queen

To be honest I have never been really interested in The Queen. She never seemed like a big deal to me, so when Gay told me she will be coming to Toronto, as her last visit (most likely) to Canada, I didn’t jump for joy, I really thought it would be a waste of time. I was 20 at the time and we were busy working hard on several collections, and I didn’t feel like we had the time to just wait around and attempt to see her. The year before Prince Charles and Camilla had come to Toronto, and we went with her newest friend, and journalist to see them. There is another funny story here where I accidently gave away a Burberry scarf to a 7 year old, but that is for another time. When Camilla and Prince Charles came Gay wanted to give them a gift. We had called the proper people, and the Canadian ambassador, but the receptionist was a huge grump and wouldn’t help us at all. Long story short the pieces we made for them was given to a Corporel General, one of few who would be seeing The Prince later that evening. We never heard back if they got their gift or not…So flash forward to The Queen’s visit, and you can see why I didn’t care too much to go see her. The day of the event it was sunny and hot out. I had an apartment in Toronto then, so I would come to work for 10. I got there, and Gay wasn’t there, she called me to tell me she had already staked out her spot, but she had forgotten the camera and flowers! Oh and to step on it! I got the camera, bought some pretty flowers, and headed down the road. Luckily it was at Queen’s Park, which is a 10 min walk from the penthouse where we worked out of and Gay lived. It was very hot out that day. Lol I almost got a tan even! Gay stayed put in our spot because lots of people were starting to come in, and we did have a great spot. I got to meet people there from all ages, and some who were holding pieces of memorbelia from other times they had seen The Queen. I was starting to get the feeling like this was kinda a big deal… Since we had gotten there so early I was able to stake out the best spots to get pictures as she travelled around the circle outside the garden, and into where one of the troops were stationed for a blank. Finally after waiting in the sun for over an hour, she came. She was inside The Queen’s Park building, and as she walked down the steps everyone started cheering The Queen! The Queen! Your Majesty! I started clicking away, and trying to find a new spot because I’m so damn short and now everyone is in my way. Everyone got all excited and forgot to stay in their spots and all started rushing to be close to her. I took the opertunity to steal their spots so I was in front and could lean over the small baracade. I had my camera aimed and ready as she walked around the corner of people. I took a picture, and stopped. She was mezmorizing. I don’t know what it was about her, but you could feel her strength, her warmth. She smiled at everyone, like she has done a million times before, but you could feel how sincere she was. I suddenly realized I was standing infront of someone with great power, who has done many amazing things in her lifetime. And I got it. I now understand why the people in the crowd were so thrilled be be able to see her. How the people who have met her 20 years before still remember the day, and want to relive it again. Without getting into politics and arguements about her accomplishments. I think you had to admit, that she is a strong person who has had a great effect on the world today. That will definitely be a moment in my lifetime that I will never forget. And it gets better.  After taking the first snap and seeing her smile, I had to shake it off and keep taking pictures. I wanted to enjoy the moment, but also record it. After I felt like I had gotten enough pictures I took off to go see Gay. We were in the middle of the park, stuck actually in a large oval. We were baracaded in, until The Queen left. It was the best place to be because we could move freely around inside it. I showed the pictures to Gay, and we were all smiles. It was totally worth coming! And worth the possible sunburn! The Queen was getting closer now, and I realized that not many people had brought her flowers. Hmm that’s a bit rude. Or maybe we weren’t supposed to give her anything? I didn’t know. So she came closer and everyone around was yelling out to her. We are so glad to see you! Welcome back to Canada! You Majesty! Everyone was calling out to her. She was on the opposite side, taking flowers from someone else, when I guess she heard Gay loud and clear. Your Majesty! Gay said, The Queen, turned around, and walked directly to her! Gay handed her the flowers and said how honoured she was to meet her, and that she is from Texas, but has always loved The Queen. The Queen, actually let her speak to her! Gay talked, and handed her the necklace in a silver tin. The Queen took it from her hands! It was amazing. Out of all the people there that day we were the only ones she stopped and ‘talked’ to. After she had walked away CBC news was running around doing interviews and did an interview on Gay. We both called our parents crying. A few months later, as I was checking the mail before work, I was flipping through everything on the way up to the penthouse. Gay was away I think in BC, so I was holding down the fort. I got to a letter I didn’t recognize and it had a funny stamp in the middle saying Buckingham Palace on it. Ha, of course my first thought was, hmm I’ve never heard of that store before…By the time I got to the top, I realized what it was! I called Gay, and I opened it. It was a letter addressed to her, from The Queen’s secretary. Wow! How cool is that? I thought. For a day that started off with a lot of obstacles in the way, and not much promise, it turned out to be a day I will never forget.

Leave a comment